Week #11: Life Isn’t Pretty, But It Sure Is Beautiful…

Hello all!

This is week eleven and also the last week of the summer for me. So this one is a bit of a reflective post. I have had a very eventful summer and have experienced/learned a lot of things. This summer has been one for the books, I made new friendships that I’m very excited about, new places I’ve fell in love with, and countless reminders of God’s grace and faithfulness towards us. I came up with a list of eleven things I’ve learned and will keep in mind for the rest of my life.

  1. Life is out of our control; we can’t control what happens, but we can control our perspective on everything we experience; Be. Optimistic.
  2. There are two types of people you will meet in life; those who will stick around and those who won’t. Doesn’t mean they are bad people it’s just how it is. So find the people who will stay and hold on to them.
  3. There is a difference between knowledge and intelligence; Knowledge is facts, information, and skills acquired by a person through experience or education. Intelligence isΒ the ability to acquire and apply knowledge and skills. Strive to apply what you know to your life.
  4. If you want to grow and be pushed in any aspect and/or field, you have to do it yourself; don’t wait for someone to tell you to work harder. You and you alone are your biggest motivator.
  5. Don’t rely on people for your own happiness; People can definitely make you happy, but they can not be the source of your happiness. They will let you down every time; we are all imperfect.
  6. Keep an open mind; we live in a society overcome by “political correctness.” You can have your own opinion that others may not agree with, but it does not make you or the other hateful. Respectfully disagreeing has not gone away. Stand firm in your beliefs, but understand you will not always agree with everyone and that’s ok.
  7. Tell your family you love them every chance you get; we have no idea how long our time is on this earth. Take advantage of every moment you have with those you love.
  8. Don’t merely exist, LIVE! Have fun, go on adventures, buy records, write a poem, learn a new skill. Accept reality and be responsible, but remember life is meant to be enjoyed.
  9. Take every negative thing you experience in life and allow it to affect you in a positive way; Let every experience in your life, good or bad, mold you into a stronger and better person.
  10. Work hard for what you love; no one can make you care about something. If you are passionate about anything, gosh darn it, SHOW IT!

This summer has been full of new experiences, scary moments, great friends, awesome road trips and my attempt to seek joy as opposed to self-pity. I’m almost a quarter of the way into this personal project and it has already changed my perspective on life. With the help of a few people who are always there for me, I have learned that each moment is special and has the potential to be beautiful. So my goal for the rest of my life is to embrace every one. For all reading and for those who saw a hint of how they were mentioned, thank you and I love you! Stay optimistic!

Here’s to another beautiful summer, a new semester, new journey’s, every beautiful moment and I almost forgot; here’s to #11.

11. Life isn’t pretty, but it sure is beautiful.

With that as my new mindset, I can say I am very excited for my new friendships and experiences this next year holds.

Fellow Adventurers,

Here’s to Happy

Published by

KimberlyJaneCamacho

I tell stories through the different mediums of art. I act, sing, write, paint...and I don't consideer myself great at any of these things. I consider myself a person who God has blessed with a passion for telling stories; so I just can't not.

Leave a Reply

