Week #8: Late Nights and Beautiful Words

Here we are again, and I’m posting on the right day this time. Look at me?! Anyways, this week has been a pretty normal week. I got back from my mini Long Island road trip, felt sick one day and then worked. Nothing extraordinary happened but nothing disastrous did either. As usual, there were a few simple things this week that made me feel happy.

One was some late night boredom that led to some new wall decor. 11750612_1520616128079124_1652602350584964006_n

Nothing incredible but it was a fun little activity and something that made me happy.

The other thing that made/makes me happy is the playwright and author Adam Rapp. I read his play Red Light Winter this week and have read others of his before (Nocturne, Essential Self-Defense, etc…) and the more I read of his, the more I love his writing. He has this ability to create super intricate plots and intriguingly interesting characters. And I absolutely love the way he uses words. He also has this great ability to intertwine his writing for novels and plays together. Nocturne is one of my all time favorite plays of his and its written in novel form and only one of the five characters speaks. Which is incredibly interesting and unique. His writing in that play is stunning and ingenious. Like all his work I read.

To give you an example, here are a few quotes of his that give me chills.

“And then all of a sudden I realized how little time we have. Like on the earth, I mean. And when I say we, I mean everyone. It was a profound realization, and I suddenly had to share this fact with Mary. I know that sounds insane because of how it was already after midnight and all the other crazy things that had happened that day, but it was one of the most important feelings I’ve ever had – my chest was swelling and everything. It felt like there were only so many hours left on the earth – that’s the hardest part about being alive.” ~Under the Wolf, Under the Dog

“Back to his various modes of escape and survival. Because you have to escape to survive, as you must survive to escape.” ~Nocturne: A Play

“Grief does not expire like a candle or the beacon on a lighthouse. It simply changes temperature. It becomes a kind of personal weather system. Snow settles in the liver. The bowels grow thick with humidity. Ice congeals in the stomach. Frost spider webs in the lungs. The heart fills with warm rain that turns to mist and evaporates through a colder artery.” ~Nocturne: A Play

“My work is always more emotional than I am. My characters say things to each other that I get accused of not being able to say to my girlfriend.”

“Well it’s been hard for me to not write, and that’s the only process I can speak to I guess, it’s so compulsive and I need to do it all the time that sometimes I make myself not do it so I can actually tend to my life. And my life has been in shambles, like my personal relationships, my laundry, paying bills–now I have someone who pays my bills–and it’s always been a challenge because it overwhelms me. And just once I start I can go for hours and hours and hours, and sometimes I forget to eat, and the only thing I really break for is to play basketball and to walk around outside and just get some fresh air. A lot of times, days melt away; and when I’m in that zone, I love that it’s like going down a rabbit hole that I enjoy.”

~ADAM RAPP, Broadway Bullet interview, Mar. 26, 2007

So here are a few reasons why I personally love the work and words of Adam Rapp. This post was a little short and kinda just an emotional writing outburst. But reading beautiful works, like that of Adam Rapp, makes me very happy.

So here’s to beautiful words, simple pleasures, late night boredom activities, amazing authors, and their obsessive readers, (That’s probably just me, but oh well.) and here’s to each beautiful moment.

Fellow Adventurers,

Here’s to Happy

Published by

KimberlyJaneCamacho

I tell stories through the different mediums of art. I act, sing, write, paint...and I don't consideer myself great at any of these things. I consider myself a person who God has blessed with a passion for telling stories; so I just can't not.

Leave a Reply

