Week #6: Simple Moments

So I’m six weeks into this project and I can honestly say that this has already made me have a more positive outlook on life. Now, bear in mind, I am not completely changed and its not like I never get sad anymore, but trying to find the happy has definitely helped me be more optimistic.

This week was not the most exciting week of my life, so this post may be a little simple compared to the others. I have a few moments I want to focus on. The first is the joy of reading new books.

Earlier this week I read, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime by Mark Haddon; it is easily in my top favorite novels now. The book was recently adapted for the stage and won the Tony award for Best Play as well as a few other awards. I have yet to read the play but am excited to see how it was translated from novel to stage. The novel itself was, in my opinion, ingeniously written. The writing was unique, as well as the story, and having read this book in less 24 hours (because I honestly couldn’t put it down) I can honestly say that the main impact it had on me was that it was refreshing. It was refreshing to read such a unique and eloquently written story; hence the fact tat it is now one of my favorite novels.

The other happy moment I experienced this week was music. I learned a few new songs on guitar and started to dabble with the ukelele. And I’m sure my family is sick of hearing the melody of Twenty One Pilot’s House of Gold by now. I even found some new music to listen to this week. Now I know this is a very simple thing, but it really does make me incredibly happy. There’s nothing like finding a new musician who can make such a simple melody flow perfectly.

Both these moments are very simple and normal, but as I pondered what to write this week, I remembered something said at church this morning. The pastor said that we need to try to see God in the little, hidden moments of life because that is where he chooses to speak to us at times. And it reminded me that the most beautiful and sometimes happiest moments of life, are the simple, small ones. One thing I loved in The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime, was that the main character always said that it was a super good day when he saw five red cars in a row. And as simple as that was I found it beautiful, because it shows how people find happiness in the strangest and simplest things. And that is something I have learned to love by doing this personal project. And no matter what the moment is, if it makes you happy, then its worthy of being special and memorable. So yes, this was a pretty normal post but, it simply made me happy. And thats what I swore to do.

So here’s to the simply, special, small moments, the good books, haunting melodies, hidden nuggets of gold God allows us to experience and enjoy, and to seeking the beauty in life.

Fellow Adventurers,

Here’s to the Happy

Published by

whatsernameseyes

I don't consider myself a great writer. I consider myself a person who God has blessed with a passion for writing; so I just can't not.

Leave a Reply

