Week #3: A Manhattan Moment

Hello all,

So here’s week three. This week was full of happy moments but I will admit sitting down to write about them today was particularly hard. Just as I assumed, this challenge won’t completely fix the fact that at times I feel sad and don’t know why, but it can’t make it worse. So regardless of my odd emotions today and that sometimes I feel ‘not here’.., I will share the happy moments.

The first happy moment I experienced this week was going down to Long Island with my mom and seeing Mamma Mia in New York. I know that this isn’t the most moving show and that no one really goes to see it for the story…it’s simply a fun show especially if you love ABBA like my mom and I do. And it was so much fun, its was the most and longest I’ve smiled in a while. I also got to see my Uncle that night who is recovering from his previous stroke exceptionally well. He wasn’t supposed to be able to walk much and he’s moving all the time and even playing guitar. I don’t think he knows how inspirational that is for his nieces, nephews and other family members to see. He’s kind of like superman to me, and that makes me very happy.

The second happy moment was that I got a chance to spend the day with one of my favorite people, Nick Gallozzi. We went to this super cool coffee shop (I believe it was called Grey Dog, but I may be wrong) in Chelsea, where, as usual, we talked about plays and what we don’t like and what we do like. After that we went to this thing called Escape The room NYC. Basically you’re locked in this room for an hour and have to figure out clues to find the key to get out. It was surprisingly really fun and even though we didn’t get out, the hour didn’t even seem that long. We also had a group of other people who were really smart and we ended up finding the last clue which was a box that held the key; We would’ve won if we could get the right 4-digit combination to open that box, but w sadly we did not. Still, it was super fun. After that we went to a very ‘informative’ museum and I left feeling very cultured. Also there was a cool little coffee shop/lounge thing downstairs completely hidden and nothing to do with the upstairs. All in all, I had a great two days walking around my favorite place with my favorite people.

The third thing that made me happy was that I spontaneously chopped my hair off this week and it was one of the best decisions I have made. I’m in love with the cut and that I can finally have the messy, choppy bob I’ve always wanted.

The last and final thing that made me happy this week, was I read a new book. One that I have always wanted to but never got around to reading. It was also the first book I’ve read in a long time that wasn’t a play, short story or textbook. SO I am not ashamed to say that I started Perks of Being a Wallflower Thursday morning and finished it that night. I forgot how refreshing a good book is. I am also not ashamed to say that I was weeping almost the entire time. I know I’m a little behind on the fad of this story but I still love it regardless. I’ve heard the line ‘In that moment, I swear we were infinite,’ a million times. But there was something about reading in the context of the book that broke me down to a million emotional pieces.

And it got me thinking about the times I have truly felt that. Like the nerd I am, I looked up the definition. Infinite means limitless or endless in space, extent or size; impossible to measure or calculate. And the synonyms are boundless, unlimited, limitless, never-ending. I will be honest that most times I have felt that way were only temporary, looking back on them now. Which makes me to believe maybe they weren’t really as infinite as I thought they were. In the moment I felt boundless, now I look at it and feel like it meant absolutely nothing. Time will do that to you I suppose. People change, friends fail you and happiness isn’t always easy to find. But the other cool thing about time is that when moments pass, another one immediately begins. And we never know when we’ll experience the good ones of bad ones. The happy or sad. Or if this will be the time we feel infinite. There’s a lot of things we don’t know, but I know one thing: There is always for this moment.

The featured image I chose for this post is by my favorite artist, Loui Jover. This piece is called, A Manhattan Moment. He was asked in an interview once to sum up what his art means, his response was:

“Art tempers my spirit, it gives me direction. Without art I would most likely be a psychopath. On can spend a lifetime looking at the world but seldom do they “see” anything. My art helps me to “see” life around me…”

I don’t want to go through life and miss the beautiful moments, not because they weren’t there, but because I wasn’t looking for them. I’m trying with all my heart to “see” all the beauty this world has. All moments and aspects of life have the potential to be beautiful if we stay open and hopeful towards them. They are not going to always be happy and neither will I, but I will try despite my thoughts to “see” the beauty and make them all as happy and beautiful as I can. I guess that makes it five happy moments then.

So this week my happy thoughts were:

1. Mamma Mia with my mom.

2. Spending a day with Nick.

3. Spontaneous hair decisions.

4. Reading Perks of Being A Wallflower

5. Realizing every moment has the potential to be beautiful and make me fell infinite.

So here’s to good music, awesome friends and family, here’s to crying at the beauty of a new book, here’s to “seeing” life, the power of words, all the Happy and here’s to the hope of forever feeling infinite.

Fellow Adventurers,

Here’s to this beautiful moment.

Published by

KimberlyJaneCamacho

I tell stories through the different mediums of art. I act, sing, write, paint...and I don't consideer myself great at any of these things. I consider myself a person who God has blessed with a passion for telling stories; so I just can't not.

Leave a Reply

