52 Weeks of Happy

“The best thing ever, I think, is to be completely wild. I don’t mean a trouble-maker, a bad-decision maker, by wild, I mean uncontrollable by others and still self-controlled. To be untamed by others opinions. To never be pinned down to one location or one way of life, but wild enough to chose your own.” -Lily Sven

As summer of 2K15 is kicking into gear, I’m already planning out next school year and scheduling; which always stresses me out and makes me anxious. So as I was thinking of next school year, I wondered why I wasn’t thinking about right now. This day, not one weeks in the future. Why am I not enjoying my last few months in upstate New York? Why am I not enjoying the sunshine and the beautiful scenery right outside my window?

And my answer to that is simply: Because I chose not to.

I was choosing to wallow in my own self pity and complain about what I couldn’t do, as opposed to realizing what I can.

I have the free time of the summer to write and read and create beautiful art and go on adventures. I have the right to be and feel happy. And so I decided, ‘Darn it Kim! You’re going to be Happy!’

So this is my new project. I am hereby creating my own personal challenge and invite anyone else who wants to join. Beginning with this first post, today I am starting…

52 Weeks of Happy.

For the next year, once a week, I am going to step back and look at the big picture. I’m going to stop complaining and feeling bad for myself and I will think of the positive. Think of the happy. Once a week, in this blog, I will reflect on what made me happy and brought a smile to my face or laughter to my lips. I will seek out adventures and strive to be a more joyous and happier individual inside and out. I will let life be beautiful and find the silver lining in all I can. Anyone who wants to join, can do a blog or facebook post or instagram…whatever you like.

I’m not expecting this to change my whole outlook on life, but I want to see if some of the stress and sadness I experience is self-caused and has the possibility to be avoided. Even if it doesn’t help, focusing on the happy times can’t make it worse.

My mindset for this for this project is John 16:22, “…no one will take away your joy.” And no one will.

So, fellow adventurers:

Here’s to this moment and all the moments to come; Here’s to optimism. Here’s to being wild and crazy! Here’s to magic and adventures!

Here’s to 52 Weeks of Happy!

Published by

whatsernameseyes

I don't consider myself a great writer. I consider myself a person who God has blessed with a passion for writing; so I just can't not.

2 thoughts on “52 Weeks of Happy”

  1. Hey! I actually wrote that quote (as a part of my novel, which is why Lily Sven’s name is the attribution and not mine). So cool to see you use it! Thanks so much. I really enjoyed this post!

    Like

    1. I’m sorry I just saw this. I haven’t been on the site in a while but am back to writing! That’s a beautiful quote and I’m glad I was able to use it. Thank you so much for you kind words 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

