Perfectly Imperfect

 

 

“I am writing this letter to tell you, I forgive you. The reason I forgive you is because you are not perfect. You are imperfect. And so am I. All humans are imperfect. Even the man outside my apartment who litters. When I was young, I wanted to be anybody but myself. Dr. Bernard Hasselhoff said if I was on a desert island, then I would have to get used to my own company. Just me and the coconuts. He said I would have to accept myself: my warts and all. And that we don’t get to choose our warts. They are a part of us and we have to live with them. We can however, choose our friends. And I am glad I have chosen you. Dr. Bernard Hasselhoff also said that everyone’s lives are like a very long sidewalk. Some are well paved. Others, like mine, have cracks, banana skins and cigarette butts. Your sidewalk is like mine, but probably not as many cracks. Hopefully, one day our sidewalks will meet and we can share a can of condensed milk. You are my best friend. You are my only friend.”

This is the ending sequence from a movie I have watched recently called, Max and Mary. It was basically a clay-mation animated movie for adults. I won’t  lie…I cried more in that hour and a half time frame than I have in years.

The movie tells the story of two pen pals. Mary, an 8 year old girl from Australia. And Max, a man who suffers froms Asperger syndrome. The movie is the story of their correspondance throughout each of their own lives. It truly is a beautiful film and I won’t spoil anything or give you any type of review because my intention is not make you like the movie. All I want to do is explain why this quote is beautiful to me. And from that you can then, choose an opinion.

In the beginning when he says, ‘I forgive you because you are imperfect. And so am I.’ Personally for me, I understood what it feels like to grow up without many friends, and feel like all peope see are your faults and “warts” as Max said. But this quote was a beautiful reminder of how we all have rough patches, some with more cracks than others. But regardless, no path is perfect. And understanding it never  will be, is surprisingly calming.

Lately I have been experiencing the feeling that I hve no idea where my path is leading me. There’s bumps and turns that I never saw coming. And I can’t escape them. All I can do is face them. This is a scary thought but its life and life is very scary.

But fear is not bad. Its only bad when we allow it to hold us back or hinder us. Fearing something and being afraid are two very different things. My life has not been terrible not it also has not been easy. I have been blessed recently with amazing friends. Friends who are also inperfect. Whether they are being brutally honest and telling me to just stop complaining. Giving me the most blunt advice even when I necessarily don’t want to hear it. Telling me to be a little quiter when I get too passionate. Or comparing me to tropical plants. Despite their flaws and my own, they are perfectly imperfect. And I wouldn’t trade their quirks and all of our memories for the world. Regardless of my details or anyones…life is imperfect. And so are we.

Picasso said, “Art is a lie that makes us realize truth. Atleast the truth weare given to understand.” And this movie reminded me of the truth that when we realize our imperfections and understand that being imperfect is ok, that is when life becomes beautiful. 

As beautiful as muddy brown eyes and paths containing cracks and cigarette butts.

So my Fellow Adventurers,

Stay beautiful and perfectly imperfect!

Published by

KimberlyJaneCamacho

I tell stories through the different mediums of art. I act, sing, write, paint...and I don't consideer myself great at any of these things. I consider myself a person who God has blessed with a passion for telling stories; so I just can't not.

Leave a Reply

