I’m a child in a college student’s body

Remember when coloring was school work, nap time was dreaded and imagination was realer than reality? When friends weren’t posts on a computer screen and a tweet was an actual sound from an actual bird. Well now I would give anything to take a nap and work has a whole different meaning. Debt is a real thing and mommy can’t kiss everything better anymore. Growing up sucks. And I hate it.

Here’s a little fact about me…

I never wanted to grow up.

I actually told myself once that I never would because, as a grown up, I wouldn’t be able to play with all my toys. And I’ll tell ya, that barbie castle of mine was pretty awesome.

I was a kid infatuated with my imagination and I loved it. I would run in the woods or anywhere I was and create my own story, acting every character out. Regardless of being made fun of or getting in trouble because I would play with other kids. Or rather, I wouldn’t let them play with me because they didn’t think the way I did. Which obviously messed up everything in my stories because they never played it right, but thats a whole different matter.

I was just always in my own little world, which was far from little to me. And I never, ever wanted that world to go away. And looking at myself now, being a sophomore in college…I fear it will or already has.

There are times where I look back and wish that my carefree, childhood never would’ve ended. I think about that more than anything, actually. And even though we all have to learn to grow up, our inner child can stay young forever. And for anyone who knows me, my weird quirks, my obsession with platypi and love for certain cartoons…they know I never will be a complete grown up.

Yes, I will be responsible when needed, but I will always be the curious, imaginative carefree child I always was. And does that bother me? Not one bit!

So with that said, I am going to eat cookies at midnight, while watching The Fox and The Hound (secretly crying) as I snuggle with my stuffed platypi named Monte Cristo. Because I am an adult.

Why is his name Monte Cristo you may ask, to that I answer: What other fabulous name would you give a platypus?!

And all that was said by this 19 year old college sophomore.

When in truth its this little girl…

665474_166218540190895_1878774492_o

In this college student’s body.

10710605_1388035168003888_4801993297989670557_n

Kids and adults, Peter Pan was right. Don’t grow up. Its a trap.

Published by

KimberlyJaneCamacho

I tell stories through the different mediums of art. I act, sing, write, paint...and I don't consideer myself great at any of these things. I consider myself a person who God has blessed with a passion for telling stories; so I just can't not.

Leave a Reply

