Silent Wood

Have you ever felt the overwhelming need for silence and peace? Those times where you wish that everything would stop and just be still. That you could go to that place in your imagination where everything makes sense and is at ease. Where, for once, everything is simply… quiet.

I have those moments at least once a day. And my silence sanctuary is always one of two places:

A forrest or a lighthouse.

Pigeon-Point-Lighthouse

Lately my thoughts have been geared towards the trees than the ocean. I’ve had this desire to leave everything and just go deep into the forrest and be still in this world of chaos.

cropped-fernandkhnopffstillwater-fosset1894osterreicschegaleriebelvedere-vienna.jpg

I was with some friends hiking recently, when my natural Wanderlust came out and I decided to leave the path and go explore the forrest. We hiked down and discovered a small ravine and was overwhelmed by the peace that was present in this small piece of the mountain. Each tree specifically placed with leaves and branches like no other. The sunlight hitting the ground and trees, only where nature would allow; sitting there, just enjoying this corner of a giant painting on display, I couldn’t help think we were like a mere brushstroke in this massive artwork. It was utterly breathtaking.

But what struck me was not the beauty nor the authenticity of the trees, but the area we were in. Not even two miles from where we were sitting, lies a busy college campus and the mid-day traffic of a lively town. So many cars, and businesses and people going on with life. And here we were in complete silence. The only sounds heard were my own content breath’s and the natural life of all that was in the woods.

In the midst of this crazy life we found a silent wood. A haven of stillness. A place that was truly quiet.

I couldn’t help but sit there in awe of how silence and stillness exists so close to chaos.

But also how one feeds off of the other, in a sense.

The chaos and stillness in life allows us to differentiate between the silence and the noise. Through chaos we learn to appreciate the silent moments more.

Needless to say I have and will go back to my silent wood many a time. We need those places in life to sit back, breathe and thank God for another moment of life. Its those moments that make life worthwhile to me.

So take this as an encouragement to go and find your still place. Or more than one, if you wish!

Explore.

Discover.

Be Still.

And Find Your Silent Wood.

Published by

whatsernameseyes

I don't consider myself a great writer. I consider myself a person who God has blessed with a passion for writing; so I just can't not.

Leave a Reply

